Blog

Posted Monday, February 22, 2016 - 15:39 in Susannah Fox's blog
Catherine is a woman I met through my fieldwork in communities of people living with rare disease. When she was pregnant with her second child, she couldn’t shake the feeling something was wrong.
Posted Thursday, January 21, 2016 - 00:00 in Susannah Fox's blog
Prescriber Checkup, a tool created in 2013 by ProPublica, a nonprofit journalism site, recently added Iodine, a start-up company focused...
Posted Tuesday, December 15, 2015 - 11:31 in kasshout's blog
By: Taha A. Kass-Hout, M.D., M.S. and Elaine Johanson
Posted Thursday, November 19, 2015 - 14:18 in Mark Scrimshire's blog
Posted Friday, November 13, 2015 - 00:00 in idealab's blog
[this is a cross-post from the NIH's Data Science blog - https://datascience.nih.gov/blog ] By George Komatsoulis
Posted Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 15:55 in Anonymous's blog
How Journalists Used Public Data to Publish the Complication Rates of 16.000 Surgeons By Olga Pierce & Marshall Allen, Propublica
Posted Thursday, October 8, 2015 - 00:00 in idealab's blog
(this is a cross-post from the White House blog) by Robbie Barbero and Noemie Levy ****  
Posted Wednesday, September 2, 2015 - 12:52 in Adnan Mahmud's blog
Want to learn more about the Obesity Data Challenge-winning app, HealthData+Obesity? Adnan Mahmud, founder and CEO of LiveStories and part of winning team, discusses the inspiration behind their app.
Posted Wednesday, July 8, 2015 - 00:00 in Edward L. Hunter's blog
In recent decades, three things have grown at an astonishing rate: The obesity rate in our population, Health care costs, and The availability of health-related public-use data sets.
Posted Thursday, June 18, 2015 - 00:00 in Sandeep Patel's blog
The National Cancer Institute (NCI) aims to help researchers better understand the genetic components of breast cancer by launching a new prize competition called “...
Posted Wednesday, June 10, 2015 - 10:40 in Chris Boone's blog
It’s hard to hide from the data – obesity is a growing and global challenge we must collectively fight.